Nominated: Real Neat Blog

real-neat-blog-awardThank you to Peaches and Poppycock and Chipper Zone for nominating me for the Real Neat Blog Award! I’m glad you think my blog is neat, that’s super kind and I’m happy you’re reading. =)

I am currently sitting at the awesome desk my best friend got me for Christmas, getting tickled by the tassel on my graduation cap [yes I am wearing my graduation cap.. it was sitting on my desk and felt like a good idea before all the face grazing], drinking Illy Coffee [it’s good shit, you should try it.. opening the sealed can is the best smell that exists] out of a James Dean mug and blowing off the final project for my Physics lab [I’ve thought about coming up with an excuse for this and simply settled on: I was irresponsible and procrastinated, which is especially a bummer cos I was going to make a cookie mobile].

Lately I wake up inordinately early, before my alarm even went off. Thought about going to the gym and decided: meh, I’ll finally accept those awards instead, that sounds way better. I was nominated by two different people, so I suppose I’ll answer all fourteen questions and make up new ones for my nominees, which are as follows:

allandonlyhuman [miss you Stew #sadface]
Terminating Reconstruction [we’re graduating #discomfort]
Cognitive Reflection [you’re one of the first bloggers I met and have been super friendly]
Send Sunshine [you write seriously hilarious things about roombas]
Lucky Otter [I super relate with all your posts about NPD, etc.]

A couple of you are my real life friends, others of you I’ve met blogging and really enjoy keeping up with your blogs [especially since the reader gets inundated with posts, I’m always happy to see one of yours]. If you don’t want to participate that’s cool, if you do that’s ice-cool. Here are the rules:

  • Put the award logo on your blog.
  • Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  • Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.
  • Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
  • Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

[Note: I made the mistake of not reading to the end to see the new questions. Don’t follow in my footsteps. Unless you really don’t like my questions, I suppose. They’re at the end if you want to judge them first before “accidentally” answering the wrong ones…..]

Peaches and Poppycock asked the following questions:

Q: What is your favorite “jam out” song? One you can’t resist to get excited about-perhaps even lip sync to!
A: This is a tough one, I really love music.. How about this:

Q: Do you prefer to blog about your opinions or life experiences?
A: I do both, but I blog about life experiences way more. Nonfiction is my preferred genre.

Q: What’s your guilty pleasure?
A: Well, I would say ice-cream and candy, but I quit eating sugar. Next would be coffee, but I’m quitting that this summer most likely. So I’ll say bad television, but I might quit that too….. sooooo, I’ll just say wasting time on the internet instead of being productive.

Q: Do you ever get “bloggers block”? How do you get around it?
A: Yes, but I usually just start spouting random stream of conscious nonsense or clicking around on others blogs and that gets me going. I’m way more likely to blog than to work on my memoir, which is in serious need of editing, or send out finished pieces to publishers.. and so far I haven’t gotten around that. I’m a full blown procrastinator #excuses.

Q: Ever have to write questions and run out of questions?
A: Not yet, but I could see that being an event I could experience.

Q: Do you have pets? What kind? Names?
A: I have a Min-Pin Chihuahua. His name is Buckley [after Jeff Buckley] and I love his adorable little face. Also, my roommate has a cat named Chowder. They’re buds.IMG_2838IMG_0166

Q: What’s the strangest question you were ever asked?
A: Not sure, honestly, but I’d imagine it was from some douchebag on the street.

Now on to Chipper Zone’s Questions…..

Q: Your biggest fear?
A: Being abandoned. Isn’t that everyone’s greatest fear?

Q: How often do you think about dying?
A: Quite often. More when I’m unhappy or feeling uncared about. Or when I’m driving, I have a weird thing where I always thought it would be fun to run into those barrels or drive off an elevated highway or roll my car. I think part of me wants to be a stunt driver.

Q: If you were granted three wishes what would you wish for?
A: Easy: The ability to teleport, erasing money as a stressor, and something else that wouldn’t alter me as a person.. maybe to see all my favorite nineties bands in concert.

Q: Do you believe in god?
A: Yes. Although I’m not always sure what that means, but that’s a big topic and I could probably devote an entire [or several] posts to it.

Q: What do you see in your future?
A: HA! Fuck if I know. We can’t know the future so this is a little bit of an absurd question.. but I suppose I can attempt to answer it by simply saying: love, pain and death.

Q: Fight for your country or fight for the world?
A: I don’t understand Patriotism as an attachment. So, fight for humanity.

Q: Define life.
A: Life is about relationships. It’s about exploring and taking risks and connecting with yourself and others. It’s about finding or creating a safe space where you can be your vulnerable, raw self and feel accepted and loved by yourself and safe people. It’s about feeling however you feel–angry, loved, sad, lonely, ecstatic–and recovering from a childhood where that wasn’t always okay. It’s about pain and growth and change and discomfort and not knowing and knowing beyond a shadow of a doubt. It’s about acceptance. It’s about love and hope and hate and fear and pain and growth and figuring out what it means to be human. It’s about being and letting others be. I could go on about this for a significant amount of time, it seems I’ve found yet another future post topic.

I just realized these aren’t the questions I was supposed to answer, but it’s too late. I’ve committed. Although, I would like to answer the “What’s my spirit animal” question: Lemur.

My questions are as follows:

  • If you had to choose a wild animal to be licked by, which would it be and why?
  • What’s your favorite childhood memory? [Describe it in scene if you wish]
  • How has your taste in music morphed through the years?
  • If your friend had a pet parrot and you wanted to fuck with your friend, what would you teach their pet parrot to say?
  • What’s one thing you always wanted to say but couldn’t?
  • If you could choose any blaze-of-glory style death, which would it be?
  • How do you feel about Monopoly and who ruined it for you?

Have a super awesome day! ;D

Participate Below!

